top of page

Navigating your autoimmune disease 

First off I want to welcome anyone that visits my blog. My main goal is to provide information, hope, and guidance towards living your best possible life with an autoimmune disease.


When I was first diagnoised with Graves Autoimmune Disease, I was already suffering for close to a year. I had sought out advice from numerous doctors, chiropractors, and hospitals. I was the crazy lady sitting in the doctors office every week telling the doctors something was seriously wrong with me. My vulnerability and anxiousness made me come off as a hot mess suffering from hypochondria.


At that point in my journey, I hadn't found my voice yet. I fully trusted and believed everything the doctors were informing me. I started to accept that I was becoming obsessed with something being terribly wrong with my body.


It took me many months and many doctors to finally reach a diagnosis. I had an amazing cardiologist that looked pass my "anxiety". He demonstrated kindness, understanding, and genuinely wanted to help me feel better. I felt relieved. Finally my voice was being heard.


When I was told I had Graves Autoimme disease, I felt a sense of relief. I had a name to the thing that was trying to kill me. He gave me an appointment with an endocrinologist, my methimazole, and beta blockers(aka life savers)


Little did I know, that appointment would pave the way to a very long and difficult road. My body now had restrictions, medications I needed daily, I had to make major life changes.


My best advice to anyone navigating chronic illness

•Find a doctor that will listen and take you seriously

•Do your research

• Don't be afraid to be demanding when asking for further testing

•Take time to focus on your mental health and wellbeing

•Find support groups on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest. So much better than googling and hearing horror stories

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page